Moses Kuria moved following President William Ruto’s Cabinet Reshuffle

Author: Dennis Njore

In a significant move aimed at enhancing the efficiency and effectiveness of the Kenyan government, President William Ruto announced a major Cabinet reshuffle on Wednesday night. This reshuffle saw various ministries merged, renamed, and key Cabinet secretaries reassigned to new dockets.

One of the key changes involved the expansion of the Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary, which now includes the Ministry of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, headed by Musalia Mudavadi. This expansion is expected to streamline government operations and decision-making.

Moses Kuria, the former Investments, Trade, and Industry Cabinet Secretary, has been moved to the newly reconstituted and renamed Ministry of Public Service, Performance, and Delivery Management. This change is part of the President's vision to reinvigorate the public service sector.

Another significant move was the redeployment of Alfred Mutua, the former Cabinet Secretary for Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, to head the Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife. This shift reflects the government's commitment to the development of Kenya's tourism sector, a crucial driver of the country's economy.

A new ministry, the Ministry of Gender, Culture, the Arts, and Heritage, has been established, with Aisha Jumwa appointed to lead it. This ministry's creation underscores the importance of promoting gender equality, cultural preservation, and the arts in Kenya's development agenda.

Additionally, the Ministry of Youth Affairs, the Arts, and Sports has been reconstituted and renamed the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, with Ababu Namwamba retaining his position. This continuity is expected to ensure that youth empowerment and sports development remain key priorities for the government.

Rebecca Miano has taken over as the head of the Ministry of Investments, Trade, and Industry, following Moses Kuria's reassignment. The Ministry of East African Community, the Arid and Semi-Arid Lands (ASALs), and Regional Development is now under the leadership of Peninah Malonza.

Alice Wahome, the former Water Cabinet Secretary, has swapped positions with Zachary Njeru, who was previously in charge of the Ministry of Lands, Public Works, and Urban Development. These changes are intended to optimize the management of critical infrastructure and resources.

President Ruto also reorganized the roles of Principal Secretaries to align with the new ministerial changes. Notable appointments include Harsama Kello, who now oversees the State Department for the ASALs and Regional Development, and Julius Korir, responsible for the State Department for Water and Sanitation. Geoffrey Kaituko has been appointed to head the State Department for Shipping and Maritime Affairs.

The President's decision to implement these changes is in line with Article 152(5)(a) of the Kenyan Constitution, which grants him the authority to reassign Cabinet secretaries. The reshuffle follows recent public dissatisfaction with some Cabinet members' lack of understanding of their respective dockets, as highlighted by Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi.

President Ruto emphasized the need for public servants to stay informed and have the correct information to make informed decisions. He views the reshuffle as a means to promote efficiency and effectiveness in government service delivery.

These changes represent a strategic realignment of ministerial roles and responsibilities within the Kenyan government. With these new appointments and merged ministries, President Ruto's administration is poised to tackle various challenges and drive the nation's development agenda forward, prioritizing efficiency, effectiveness, and informed decision-making.